History of Indian Kingship

India is a country with a distinctive and unique culture. Located in the northern part of the Indian subcontinent, surrounded by the Arabian Sea on the west, and the Bay of Bengal on the east, it has many fascinating places to visit. India was ruled by several dynasties such as the Mauryas, Kushanas, Guptas, Delhi Sultanate, Delhi Mughals, and others. The Mughal Empire is considered one of the most significant empires for its contributions to Indian.

Mourya Dynasty

Mourya dynasty or the Mūrya empire is a legendary Indian dynasty that is said to have existed before the Mahābhārata War (c. 3102 – 2967 BCE). A few Hindu texts such as the Rajasuya and the Anushasanaparva mention that king Pururavas founded this dynasty. The Puranas state that he was born from a fire-god and a water goddess and had many sons and grandsons who conquered the earth and brought prosperity to the people.

Khushana Dynasty

The Dynasty of Khushana was the first ruling dynasty of India. Many people think it is only a myth, but if you analyze these records carefully, your thoughts will change. There are two kinds of evidence to prove this fact. The mythical evidence contains many heroic stories about kings. The other kind of evidence is related to the finding of pots and other things that makes people think that the pot existed. This helps them in their daily lives in some ways.

Gupta Dynasty

Gupta Dynasty was a great empire of ancient India recognized for its great wealth. Founded by King Chandragupta I, Gupta Dynasty controlled almost all of the Indian subcontinent. The Guptas very quickly took control of the commercial and political life of northern India, central India along the southern part of the peninsula. They became an inspiration for other dynasties that followed them. This article takes you through the detailed history of the Gupta Dynasty.

Delhi Sultanate

The Delhi Sultanate was a Muslim sultanate based in Delhi that stretched over large parts of the Indian subcontinent for 320 years (1206 to 1526). Five dynasties ruled over the Delhi Sultanate sequentially: the Mamluk dynasty (1206–90), the Khalji dynasty (1290–1320), the Tughlaq dynasty (1320-1414), the Sayyid dynasty (1414–51), and the Lodi dynasty (1451–1526).